Worth It

This week has been…emotional. Poor Nick walks in on me crying quite often- it seems like the smallest things will bring out the tears.

Please hear me- I’m so very excited to be getting this amazing opportunity and can’t wait to start our new lives in the U.A.E., I know that this is where God has placed us for this season and I am thrilled to be a part of it! However, that doesn’t make me less emotional about leaving this place.

Lynchburg is the place where Nick and I met, fell in love, got married and started our life together. This is the place where our church family is, where we serve, where we went to school. This is the place where we have made many friendships, grown in so many ways, and have been loved so well by so many people.

When I think about all of these things, it feels so hard to leave this place. To leave my precious middle school girls who I have seen grow from little 6th graders, who have grown into beautiful young women who are passionate about Jesus.

These are just a few of my sweet girls. I know that saying goodbye to them will be one of the most difficult things about leaving here.

 
Or saying goodbye to this sweet boy that I have been able to love for more than a year. I love him so much and cry pretty much every time I think about leaving him.

Or my sweet Cote girls who make me laugh and make me think that having all girls one day wouldn’t be as scary as I once thought (Nick still doesn’t feel the call to have a bunch of little girls- ha!).
But at the end of all of it, it always comes down to one thing. It is all worth it. I want to pursue Jesus with my whole heart- because He is worth it. No matter what He asks- He will always be worth it. If I truly believe that He died, paying the debt for my sins, so that I could spend eternity with HIm, how can I not live like it? What we are doing is not extraordinary in any way, it is simply living like Jesus is worth it and following Him where He calls. We are still far from perfect, however we are continuing to strive to be worthy of the calling bestowed upon us.

He promises incredible blessings when we follow Him, more than we could imagine.

Matthew 19:29- “And everyone who has given up houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or children or property, for my sake, will receive a hundred times as much in return and will inherit eternal life.”

B

7 comments
  1. Donna Birkmaier said:

    Your faith is inspiring, God never shuts a door that He doesn’t open a window. Even the technology that we have is a gift from Him allowing us to keep in touch with loved ones.

  2. Willie Hayes said:

    Oh, sweet Bethany. Extraordinarily well said. Do you mind if I forward this to my SS class? Love you so much! Mom

    Date: Wed, 29 Aug 2012 15:30:20 +0000 To: tanawillie6@msn.com

    • nacope said:

      you are welcome to forward whatever you want. Love you sooo much!

  3. Beautifully said! I can only imagine how hard it is to leave. You are in my prayers!!

  4. Courtney Cowley said:

    praying for you and Nick in this time of growing and trusting! ❤

  5. Pam said:

    Awe Bethany you are so brave! It must be hard but God will bless you and Nick so much! Your such a special person and I love reading your post! Take care and know that you both are in my prayers!
    Pam

  6. JJ said:

    oh my word! love it…Thank you for hooking me up to read your blog… Precious…How beautiful on the mountains are the feet of those who bring good news, who proclaim peace, who bring good tidings, who proclaim salvation, who say to Zion, “Your God reigns!” Thank you Nick and Bethany for going…Love u

Leave a Reply

