a place of “yes”

Lately I have been thinking more about being in a place of “yes.” By this I don’t mean saying yes to everything that anyone asks me to do, but rather saying yes to Christ. No matter what. I truly believe that saying yes comes from a place of willingness, willingness to whatever Christ has for us. I also believe that saying yes happens before you necessarily know the specifics.

I have been reading a book entitled “Anything” which talks about being willing to do anything that Christ asks. Often I feel like I am willing to do anything, but when it comes down to it there are parts of  myself that, if I am honest, are not really there. I hold back parts of myself, keeping them for me, for my own selfish desires.

However, this is not where I want to be, and I am slowly learning how to lay down more of myself, more of my plans, and to say yes more. Yes to whatever God has for me. Yes to things I find inconvenient. Yes to boldly sharing Christ with those who don’t know.

 I don’t want to miss what God has for me because of a lack of obedience, or an unwillingness to say yes.

Recently I was reading in the book “Anything” something that really struck me. Jennie Allen wrote, “What if these small acts of obedience were a small part of a matrix of dominoes unfolding the glory of God (small because, after all, I am a small domino in a huge matrix). Could he bypass me and find another route? Of course- he is God. But what if I laid down my life, my domino, and through that unleashed an army of others who laid down and unleashed their obedience, and through this matrix, God’s glory was displayed through the laying down of lives int he midst of a generation? Just in case God has given me this ridiculous opportunities to display his glory, we (my husband and I) feel compelled to obey, no matter the cost and uncertainty. Because heaven is coming…and soon none of us will care about any other glory but his anyway.”

There are so many times where I have been so overwhelmingly blessed by a choice to say yes. What if I hadn’t said yes to these simple acts of obedience? I would have missed out on this. This trip transformed the way I look at life. In every way. It transformed my view on world missions and my part of God’s plan for this world.

In one month (from today!!) Nick and I will land in another country- in our new home. I am beyond excited and so incredibly thankful that God is allowing us to go there and to serve Him in that way. I don’t want to miss out on any of it by an unwillingness on my part. I want to say yes to all of it- the hard, the dirty, the uncomfortable, and even the painful. Because in the end- heaven is coming, and I want to live like it.

B

 

4 comments
  1. Chrystal said:

    Thanks for sharing! So proud of you guys and what you are doing!

  2. Rachel said:

    🙂 beautiful…

  3. Beautiful truth!

    I love you so much sweet girl 😉

  4. Tana Hayes said:

    I can’t wait to see the dominoes fall!!!

Leave a Reply

